SONOMA, Calif. (Oct. 15, 2018) — Northern California drivers will take on the twists and turns of Sonoma Raceway as the Sports Car Club of America® (SCCA) holds its legendary National Championship Runoffs® for the first time at Sonoma Raceway this weekend, Oct. 19-21.

More than 500 racers from across the United States and Canada will converge on the 12-turn, 2.52-mile circuit to decide National Champions across 28 different car classes over three action-packed days of racing. Among the 500 racers, nearly 200 Northern California racers will compete on their home track.

Local drivers include Petaluma's Joe Huffaker Jr., nine time gold medalist at the National Championships, who will pilot a MG Midget in the GT-Lite and F-Production classes. Huffaker Jr., the shop owner and team manager of Huffaker Engineering, is the son of Joe Huffaker Sr., who was one of the most successful race car builders of the 1960s and later went on to move the family business to Sonoma Raceway in 1986. Huffaker Jr.’s impressive wins as a team manager/engine builder include Trans Am (three championships), Baja and stadium off-road competitions, World Challenge GT and Formula Drift.  

Another local driver is three-time West Coast Division Champion Robert Armington from El Dorado Hills. This marks Armington's third time competing at the Runoffs after previously competing in Laguna Seca and Daytona, and he will compete in the Formula Continental class in his 2000 Van Diemen RF00. Armington has been racing since 2009 and is an electrical contractor for big-box stores and businesses when he's not on the track.

Additional Northern California entrants include: Michael Thompson (Vacaville, 1987 Chevrolet Camaro);  Lynne Griffiths (Menlo, Ford Mustang GT); Allison Palitz (Hayward, 1987 Ford Mustang); Scott Lovewell (Modesto, 2011 Mini Cooper); Clint DeWitt (Sacramento, 2013 Mini Cooper); Rick Kosdrosky (Lafayette, 2000 Caterham Lotus Super 7); Glen McCready (Redwood City, 2006 Mazda MX-5); Anthony Jimerson (Vallejo, 1986 Mazda rx 7); Jeff Jorgenson (San Francisco, 2004 Novakar JW-10); Paul Rodler (San Rafael, 2000 Van Diemen RF 00); Lyn Greenhill (Roseville, 2002 Van Diemen RF05); Jeff Read (Vacaville, 2004 Van Diemen FSCCA); Jim Devenport (Modesto, 2004 SCCA Enterprises FE2); Joseph Hopkins (Oakland, 1990 Swift DB6 Honda); Michael Bernstein (San Ramon, 2010 Piper DF5); Jon Brandstad (Stockton, 1991 Swift Formula Ford); David Jalen (Alameda, 2009 Mygale SJ-09); Manuel Leonardo (San Francisco, 2017 Piper DL7); Chuck Horn (Los Gatos, 1993 Swift/Honda DB6); Stew Tabak (Stockton, 1993 Mazda Formula Mazda); Bill Weaver (Fresno, 1996 Star Mazda Formula Mazda); Derry O'Donovan (Napa, 1996 Formula Ma FM); Ron Wake (Lafayette, 2002 Mysterian M4); Donald Manthe (Santa Rosa, 1978 Volkswagen LYNXX); Michael Fine (West Sacramento, 1995 Weaver TA Corvette); Bryan MacMillan (Benicia, 1993 Ford Mustang); Behram (Santa Rosa, 1975 Porsche 911); and Michael Cummings (Martinez, 1964 Austin Healey Sprite), among other locals.

The Runoffs at Sonoma Raceway begin with three days of qualifying, Oct. 16-18, to find Tire Rack Pole Award winners for each car class. Races are then scheduled, Oct. 19-21, from approximately 8:30 a.m. to 5:30 p.m. each day, with each race lasting either 20 laps or 40 minutes. Spectators are welcome at qualifying and race days, with tickets starting at $15 per day or $60 for multi-day passes. Tickets are on sale now at