• Joey Logano wins at Talladega:#22-Joey Logano won the Hellman's 500 Sprint Cup Series race at Talladega Superspeedway running four extra laps in NASCAR Overtime for his 2nd win of the season, 2nd win at Talladega and 16th career win. Logano led 45 of the 192 laps.
  • #44-Brian Scott finished 2nd, his career best finish and first ever top-five and top-ten, followed by #11-Hamlin, #41-Busch, #17-Stenhouse Jr., #42-Larson, #4-Harvick, #43-Almirola, #3-Dillon and #47-Allmendinger.
  • #78-Truex Jr., the pole winner, had an engine expire on lap 41, and finished 40th/last. Truex is the first pole winner to finish last since Denny Hamlin won the pole at Atlanta in September 2010 and finished 43rd/last. The finish also knocked Truex Jr. out of the Chase.
  • #2-Keselowski led the most laps at 90 but had an engine expire on lap 144, ending his day and knocking him out of the Chase.
  • Eight drivers advance to the Round of 8 of the Chase: #48-Johnson, #22-Logano, #4-Harvick, #41-Busch, #20-Kenseth, #18-Busch, #19-Edwards and #11-Hamlin.
  • Eliminated from the Chase: #3-Dillon, #78-Truex Jr., #24-Elliott and #2-Keselowski. #3-Dillon and #11-Hamlin were tied for 8th but Hamlin finished 3rd and Dillon 9th. Tie goes to the driver who had the best finish in that round. Hamlin had the 3rd and Dillon had a 6th from Kansas, so Hamlin advances.

Confrontation between Harvick and Kurt Busch on pit road: #4-Kevin Harvick confronted Stewart-Haas Racing teammate #41-Kurt Busch on pit road after Sunday's race at Talladega, appearing to lean into Busch's car and initiate physical contact. Harvick apparently was upset that Busch hit the #4 car on the cool-down lap; it's unclear why Busch was angry with Harvick. Busch finished fourth while Harvick was seventh, and both drivers advanced to the third round of the Chase for the Sprint Cup. But NBC Sports Network later showed footage of a confrontation, which occurred while Busch still was sitting in his car.(USA Today, see video at NBCSports)(10-24-2016)

NEXT RACE: This Sunday at Martinsville Speedway; TV on NBCSN at 10 a.m. PT



Troy Coughlin Jr. to join Kalitta Motorsports in third Top Fuel machine in 2017

Kalitta Motorsports has announced the expansion to a third Top Fuel dragster team to be driven by Troy Coughlin, Jr., beginning in the 2017 season. This announcement aligns two of the legendary names in the sport, Kalitta and Coughlin, for the first time.

Coughlin, Jr. is the current points leader in Division 3's Super Comp division. He previously won the 2013 Super Gas title in Division 3 and is a two-time NHRA U.S. Nationals winner. Last season, he drove in the NHRA J&A Service Pro Mod series and was named Rookie of the Year. In his career, the 26-year-old driver has driven Jr. Dragsters, Super Comp, Super Gas, Top Dragster, and Pro Mod machines. Earlier this year, he earned his Top Fuel license.

Next season, Coughlin, Jr. is currently scheduled to compete in a limited schedule that may be expanded with additional funding.

Troy Jr. is expected to be a strong contender for the 2017 AAA Road to the Future rookie of the year trophy, which is something that his uncle, Jeg Coughlin Jr., claimed in 1998, and three of his new teammates -- Del Worsham (1991), Doug Kalitta (1998) and J.R. Todd (2006) -- have also earned. Coughlin Jr.'s 2017 schedule, sponsorship, and crew chief will be announced at a later date.

NEXT RACE: This weekend at The Strip at Las Vegas Motor Speedway; TV LIVE on Sunday on FS1 at 1 p.m. PT



IndyCar Fast Six: What's Trending in IndyCar:



  • Wednesday Night Drags and Sonoma Drift on Wednesday
  • NASA racing is on track this weekend, joined by the Porsche Racing Club: