• Kevin Harvick wins at Kansas:#4-Kevin Harvick won the Hollywood Casino 400 Sprint Cup Series race at Kansas Speedway for his 4th win of the season, 2nd win at Kansas and 35th career win. Harvick led 74 of the 267 laps.
  • #19-Edwards finished 2nd followed by #22-Logano, #48-Johnson, #18-Busch, #3-Dillon, #88-Bowman (a career best), #47-Allmendinger, pole sitter #20-Kenseth, and #5-Kahne.
  • Two Chase drivers finished off the lead lap. #2-Keselowski spun off turn 4 during the race, slid down into the grass and ripped the front off the car. He finished 38th. #24-Elliott had a couple tire rubs that led to unscheduled pit stops. He finished 31st.
  • Unofficial Race Results page (pdf)
  • Jimmie Johnson (C) leads the point standings by 8 points over Matt Kenseth

Sprint Cup Driver Chase Standings - Round of 12:
[after Kansas, race 31 of 36, Chase race 5 of 10]
1) #48-Jimmie Johnson*, [3 wins], 3082 (won Charlotte)
2) #4-Kevin Harvick*, [4 wins] 3074 (won Kansas)
3) #20-Matt Kenseth, [2 wins], +29 ahead of 9th
4) #18-Kyle Busch, [4 wins], +27
5) #19-Carl Edwards, [2 wins], +24
6) #41-Kurt Busch, [1 win], +17
7) #78-Martin Truex Jr., [4 wins] +13
8) #22-Joey Logano, [1 win], +0
Bottom 4 drivers are currently out of the Chase:
9) #3-Austin Dillon, -0 pts out of 8th
10) #11-Denny Hamlin, [3 wins], -6
11) #2-Brad Keselowski, [4 wins], -7
12) #24-Chase Elliott, -25

Gilliland Wraps Up Historic Season; Becomes Youngest NASCAR Champ; Partridge Wins K&N West Finale

Todd Gilliland started the season with a historic winning streak. Wrapping it up Saturday night, an eighth-place finish was more than enough for the teenager to add to the record books.

The 16-year-old from Sherrills Ford, North Carolina, clinched the 2016 NASCAR K&N Pro Series West championship with his 13th top 10 in 14 races. Ryan Partridge outlasted defending series champion Chris Eggleston and NASCAR Next driver Julia Landauer in a green-white-checkered finish to the Toyota/NAPA Auto Parts 150 presented by TriCo Welding Supplies at All American Speedway.

Partridge's third win of the season in the No. 9 Sunrise Ford/Eibach Springs/Lucas Oil Ford wasn't enough to catch Gilliland, who won the crown by 13 points over the veteran driver from Rancho Cucamonga, Calif.

In the process, Gilliland became the youngest champion in the history of the NASCAR national or touring series at 16 years, 5 months. Gilliland breaks the record set last month when Cayden Lapcevich won the NASCAR Pinty's Series championship in Canada at 16 years, 10 months, 16 days. They both eclipsed the previous mark by 2015 Daytona 500 winner Joey Logano (Logano was 17 years, 3 months, 28 days when he won the NASCAR K&N Pro Series East title in 2007).

The NASCAR Next driver's championship title also marks the second consecutive title for owner, Bill McAnally. It's also Bill McAnally Racing's seventh NASCAR K&N Pro West championship, as Gilliland joined Eric Holmes (2 titles), Brendan Gaughan (2), Sean Woodside (1) and Eggleston (1) as NASCAR K&N Pro West champions for BMR.

NEXT RACE: This Sunday at Talladega Superspeedway; TV on NBCSN at 11 a.m. PT




Antron Brown furthered his points lead in Top Fuel on Sunday by racing to victory at the AAA Texas NHRA FallNationals.  Matt Hagan (Funny Car), Drew Skillman (Pro Stock) and Eddie Krawiec (Pro Stock Motorcycle) were also winners in their respective categories at the 22nd event of 24 on the 2016 NHRA Mello Yello Drag Racing Series schedule. The AAA Texas NHRA FallNationals is the fourth race of the six-race NHRA Mello Yello Countdown to the Championship playoffs.

Brown, the No. 1 qualifier, sprinted to a 3.744-second pass at 321.12 mph in his Matco Tools dragster to defeat Steve Torrence's 3.750 at 323.12 in his Capco Contractors dragster. This is Brown's 61st career win, seventh of the season and third at the Texas Motorplex. He extended his lead over second-place Doug Kalitta by 150 points with the win. Brown outlasted Chris Karamesines, Kalitta and J.R. Todd in the earlier rounds.

Hagan pushed his Pennzoil Dodge Charger R/T to a 3.913 at 327.03 to beat points-leader Ron Capps' 3.906 at 322.19 in his NAPA Auto Parts Dodge Charger R/T on a holeshot in the Funny Car final round. Hagan, who won at Dallas in 2010, claimed his fourth victory of the year and 22nd of his career. The Virginia cattle rancher moved to third in points, trailing Capps by 88 and second-place Tommy Johnson Jr. by 24. He defeated John Bojec, Houston winner Courtney Force and No. 1 qualifier Robert Hight in the earlier rounds.

NEXT RACE: The Strip at Las Vegas Motor Speedway, Oct. 27-30, with the NHRA Toyota Nationals.




Teaching young men and women to keep their promises is important to Bruce Daggy, executive director of the Boys and Girls Club of Wayne County in eastern Indiana. So when 2013 Indianapolis 500 winner and 2004 Verizon IndyCar Series champion Tony Kanaan strode into the club's fundraiser Thursday night, despite a scheduling conflict that nearly kept him away, he was a perfect example of the life lesson.

It took a lucky combination of good timing, a chartered airplane from St. Louis and a police escort to get the fan-favorite driver to the fundraiser at Richmond High School - an appearance Kanaan agreed to last spring as a favor to a friend.

Kanaan arrived late. But the crowd of 400 was delighted to see him because they thought the conflict was going to keep him away, even though Kanaan's photo was on almost 20 billboards advertising the event across the county and he was listed as its featured speaker. Read more:


  • Wednesday Night Drags and Sonoma Drift this Wednesday