• Matt Kenseth wins at New Hampshire:#20-Matt Kenseth won the New Hampshire 301 Sprint Cup Series race at New Hampshire Motor Speedway for his 2nd win of the season, 3rd win at New Hampshire, and 38th career win. He led 38 of the 301 laps.
  • #14-Stewart finished 2nd followed by #22-Logano, #4-Harvick, #16-Biffle, #1-McMurray, #31-Newman, #18-Kyle Busch, #11-Hamlin and #17-Stenhouse, Jr.
    Polesitter #48-Johnson led just 1 lap and finished 12th.
  • Alex Bowman, subbing for #88-Earnhardt, Jr., ran in the top 15 most of the day, but cut a tire down with less than 30 laps to go and finished 26th.


Kenseth fails post-race inspection:'s Bob Pockrass reports, "Tech is done. Kenseth's car failed laser tech postrace. Stewart passed postrace." Failing laser tech has been a 15-point penalty this year.(7-17-2016)

Kyle Busch, Edwards clinch Chase spots at New Hampshire: Joe Gibbs Racing teammates #18-Kyle Busch and #19-Carl Edwards officially clinched berths in the Chase for the NASCAR Sprint Cup playoffs based on their finishes in Sunday's race at New Hampshire Motor Speedway. Busch, the defending series champion, led a race-high 133 laps and finished eighth in Sunday's New Hampshire 301. Edwards faded to a 20th-place finish after involvement in a crash that forced the last of the race's seven yellow flags. Each qualify for championship eligibility in the 10-race postseason based on their status as multiple winners in the regular season and because of their points stature in the Sprint Cup driver standings, mathematically unable to fall outside of the top 30 requirement. Heading into Sunday's 301-lapper, Brad Keselowski was the only certified Chase-eligible driver, based on his points position and status as a winner of multiple regular-season races. Keselowski leads the series this year with four victories.

NEXT RACE: This weekend at Indianapolis Motor Speedway; TV on NBCSN at noon PT on Sunday.



Pritchett will team with DSR to compete in Denver

Top Fuel driver Leah Pritchett's season-long bid to earn a spot in the NHRA Mello Yello Countdown to the Championship got another boost Thursday when it was announced that she has struck a deal to compete at the Mopar Mile-High NHRA Nationals with a Don Schumacher Racing dragster. Pritchett will drive DSR's fourth dragster for the fifth time this year in the NHRA Mello Yello Drag Racing Series.

NEXT RACE: NHRA kicks off its Western Swing this weekend in Denver. TV LIVE on FOX on Sunday, noon-3 p.m.


Power catches good break to win Honda Indy Toronto for third time

Will Power feels he's been on the wrong side of enough caution periods in the Verizon IndyCar Series that he'll gladly accept the timely one that helped him win the Honda Indy Toronto. The 2014 series champion claimed his third win of the season and third on the streets of Exhibition Place by 1.5275 seconds over teammate Helio Castroneves, driving directly into the 2016 championship conversation in the process. Power now sits second in the standings despite missing the season opener, 47 points behind teammate Simon Pagenaud.

Power held off Castroneves, in the No. 3 Pennzoil Team Penske Chevrolet, on a last-lap restart to collect his 28th career Indy car win - moving the 35-year-old ahead of Johnny Rutherford alone into 13th on the all-time victories list.

James Hinchcliffe thrilled the partisan Toronto crowd by finishing third in his hometown race in the No. 5 Arrow Schmidt Peterson Motorsports Honda. His best previous Toronto showing was eighth place in six previous races.

CLICK HERE: Honda Indy Toronto box score

NEXT RACE: The Honda Indy 200 at Mid-Ohio, July 29-31.