Phoenix Race Recap: The middle-aged man without a ride for 2018 drove a dagger through the heart of the youngster expected to shine in the Monster Energy NASCAR Cup Series for years to come. With nine laps left in Sunday's Can-Am 500 at Phoenix Raceway, 45-year-old Matt Kenseth passed 21-year-old Chase Elliott for the lead and pulled away to win for the first time since the July 2016 New Hampshire race, breaking a 51-event winless string. Kenseth's victory, the 39th of his career, deprived Elliott of a chance to run for the series championship next Sunday at Homestead-Miami Speedway and kept Chevrolet out of the title race. The win also was a gift to Brad Keselowski, who survived a lackluster afternoon with enough points to advance to the Championship 4 event.

UP NEXT: Season finale at Homestead-Miami Speedway this Sunday. Race info HERE.

About the Championship Race:  The four Championship drivers -- #4-Kevin Harvick, #18-Kyle Busch, #78-Martin Truex, Jr., #2-Brad Keselowski -- start the Ford Ecoboost 400 at Homestead-Miami Speedway with 5000 points each. The race will run like all other races this year, with 3 stages and stage points awarded at the conclusion of the first two. However, Championship drivers will not receive stage points. The highest running playoff driver at the end of the race is the 2017 Monster Energy NASCAR Cup Series Champion.

NASCAR America Pre-Race Show: 1:30pm/et on NBCSN
NASCAR Countdown to Green Pre-Race Show: 2:00pm/et on NBC
Television Race Coverage: NBC, 2:30pm/et



2017 NHRA Mello Yello Drag Racing Champions - Brittany Force, Robert Hight, Bo Butner and Eddie Kraweic

John Force Racing's Brittany Force wrapped up her first Top Fuel championship by taking down Richie Crampton in the second round of action at the Auto Club NHRA Finals after Steve Torrence fell to Antron Brown one pair earlier. Her Monster Energy Dragster ripped off a 3.679 to take down Crampton in the second round, leaving no room for doubt. Torrence could do nothing but watch after losing to Brown just moments earlier.  A woman hadn't won the NHRA Top Fuel championship since Shirley Muldowney pulled it off 35 years ago. At least not until Sunday, when @BrittanyForce took the title.

JFR teammate Robert Hight clinched his second Mello Yello Funny Car championship when Ron Capps fell to Del Worsham in the first round of the Auto Club NHRA Finals. After a drama-filled weekend, where the 2009 champ qualified No. 15 in the final session, Hight earned the first-round victory he needed against Tim Wilkerson.

John Force breaks down in tears at the sight of his daughter Brittany winning her first Top Fuel championship:

Former Comp champ Bo Butner defeated Tanner Gray in the final round of the Auto Club NHRA Finals to clinch his first NHRA Mello Yello Series Pro Stock championship. Bo Butner has overcome the odds more than once in his life and he did so again with a thrilling come-from-behind march to the 2017 NHRA Mello Yello Pro Stock title.

After clinching his spot in the field for Sunday's final eliminations, Eddie Krawiec officially locked up his fourth NHRA Mello Yello Drag Racing Series Pro Stock Motorcycle world championship. Krawiec entered the season-ending Auto Club NHRA Finals with a 150-point lead over former champ LE Tonglet and after four rounds of qualifying, he's extended it to 156 points, to officially clinch the title. Krawiec previously won titles in 2008, 2011-12.





The 17th annual Thanksgiving Food Drive is underway:

Saturday, Nov. 18: TrackMasters Racing:

Sunday, Nov. 19: Checkered Flag Racing Association: