#11-Denny Hamlin won the Overton's 301 Monster Energy NASCAR Cup Series race at New Hampshire Motor Speedway in a backup car for his 1st win of 2017, 3rd win at New Hampshire and 30th career win. It is Joe Gibbs Racing's first win of 2017.

Stage 1 was won by #78-Truex Jr., finished 3rd.

Stage 2 was won by #18-Busch, finished 12th.

#42-Larson (for 7th time this season) finished 2nd followed by #78-Truex Jr. (pole winner and led the most laps), #20-Kenseth, #4-Harvick, #19-Suarez, #14-Bowyer, #41-Busch, #2-Keselowski & #48-Johnson.

#78-Truex Jr. increases the Driver Points lead to 38 points over #42-Larson.

There were 11 lead changes among 6 drivers and 7 cautions for 34 yellow flag laps and one short red flag for track repairs.

2017 Monster Energy NASCAR Cup Series Driver Standings:
[after New Hampshire, race 19 of 36]
1) #78-Martin Truex Jr [3], 758
2) #42-Kyle Larson [2 wins], 720, -38
3) #18-Kyle Busch, 650, -108
3) #4-Kevin Harvick [1], 639, -119
5) #11-Denny Hamlin [1], 589, -169


Kyle Busch says he will retire from the XFINITY Series after 100 wins

Retirement is not that far off for Kyle Busch. Xfinity Series retirement, that is. Busch revealed on SiriusXM NASCAR Radio after winning the Overton's 200 Saturday afternoon he will be done with Xfinity competition when he hits a magic number. Right now, Busch is the winningest driver in the series with 89 career wins.

"I thought today was 90, but I just got 88 last week [at Kentucky], so I don't know why I forget that, but hopefully next week [Indianapolis] is 90 and we can continue this on," Busch said. "Retirement is fast approaching; looking forward to that."

But when exactly will that be?

"When I get to 100 Xfinity wins, I'm done," said Busch.


NEXT RACE: This weekend at Indianapolis Motor Speedway; TV on NBC on Sunday at 11:30 a.m. PT



Western Swing set to begin in Denver with Mopar Mile-High NHRA Nationals

The thrilling Western Swing once again starts at Bandimere Speedway as the top stars in the NHRA Mello Yello Drag Racing Series return for the 38th annual Mopar Mile-High NHRA Nationals. Sunday's finals will be showcased live on the FOX national broadcast network.


The Mopar Mile-High NHRA Nationals is the 14th of 24 events during the 2017 NHRA season and marks the traditional starting point for the famed and challenging Western Swing, which features three straight races in the western region of the United States. With only four races following the event before the Mello Yello Countdown to the Championship begins, the best in Top Fuel, Funny Car, Pro Stock, and Pro Stock Motorcycle will battle for wins and crucial championship points. 


Read more:


NEXT RACE: This weekend at Bandimere Speedway; TV LIVE on FOX at noon PT



Newgarden follows familiar path to Honda Indy Toronto victory

For the second time in three years, Josef Newgarden was the winning beneficiary of fortunate pit stop timing at the Honda Indy Toronto. Newgarden seized the lead by making his first stop just before a full-course caution flag waved on the streets course at Exhibition Place. The Team Penske driver led 58 of the last 61 laps to win the Verizon IndyCar Series race by 1.8704 seconds over Alexander Rossi.


It is Newgarden's second win of the 2017 season - following his April victory at the Honda Indy Grand Prix of Alabama - and his second Toronto win in three years. Like today, Newgarden's 2015 Toronto triumph was also set up by a timely pit stop made prior to a full-course caution.


Newgarden's win in the No. 2 DeVilbiss Team Penske Chevrolet also tightened the season championship chase after 12 of 17 races. Points leader Scott Dixon finished 10th after making first-lap contact with Will Power, whose three Team Penske teammates now lurk within 23 points of first place.


Helio Castroneves trails Dixon by three points after finishing eighth in the No. 3 Hitachi Team Penske Chevrolet. Simon Pagenaud is 19 points behind Dixon after finishing fifth in the No. 1 DXC Technology Team Penske Chevrolet and Newgarden is 23 points behind. The Verizon IndyCar Series championship has been decided in the final race of the season every year since 2006.


Castroneves, who started third, jumped pole sitter Pagenaud and Graham Rahal for the lead with a brilliant inside pass in Turn 1 on the first of 85 laps around the 11-turn, 1.786-mile street circuit. Newgarden was running fourth when he made his first stop for fuel and tires on Lap 23, seconds before Tony Kanaan ran into the Turn 1 tire barrier to bring out the caution flag and pit lane was closed.


Rossi climbed from the eighth starting position to place second, the best showing for the driver of the No. 98 Andretti Autosport/Curb Honda since his memorable win in the 2016 Indianapolis 500. Rossi led an Andretti Autosport renewal with Marco Andretti finishing a season-best fourth and Ryan Hunter-Reay sixth.


VIDEO: Fast Forward: Honda Indy Toronto:


NEXT RACE: The Honda Indy 200 at Mid-Ohio Sports Car Course, July 30.