Truex, Jr. wins at Kansas: 

  • #78-Martin Truex, Jr. won the Go Bowling 400 Monster Energy NASCAR Cup Series race at Kansas Speedway for his 2nd win of 2017, 1st win at Kansas and 9th career win. Truex led 104 of the 267 laps. He took the lead on a restart with 19 laps to go and held on through a couple cautions to win by more than 1 second.
  • #2-Keselowski finished 2nd followed by #4-Harvick, pole sitter #21-Blaney, #18-Busch, points leader #42-Larson, #19-Suarez, #1-McMurray, #14-Bowyer, and #6-Bayne.
  • There was a red flag of more than 27 minutes with 67 laps remaining after an accident between #22-Logano, #10-Patrick, and #43-Almirola. Something broke on the front right of Logano's car, sending him into the rear of Patrick and hooking her into the wall. Almirola could not stop and slid into the front end of Logano's car. He complained of back pain and was to be cut out of the #43. Safety crews removed the top of the car and placed Almirola on a stretcher and into the ambulance. He was alert and awake but airlifted to the hospital.
  • Larson leads the driver points by 44 over Truex, Jr.

NASCAR Adds Stage to Coke 600

NASCAR today announced the addition of a fourth stage to the Coca-Cola 600 at Charlotte Motor Speedway, an update that will provide fans with yet another opportunity for a memorable moment in a season already filled with them. The four stages in the 400-lap race will be uniformly set at 100 laps apiece.


Latest on Aric Almirola

Aric Almirola, driver of the #43 Richard Petty Motorsports Ford, has been released from a local Kansas hospital and will fly back to his home in Mooresville, N.C. today.

Almirola suffered a compression fracture to his T5 Vertebra after a multi-car accident at Kansas Speedway Saturday night. Almirola is mobile and will follow-up with his doctors in Charlotte.

NEXT RACE: NASCAR All-Star Race this Saturday at Charlotte Motor Speedway; TV on FS1 at 5 p.m.


NEXT RACE: NHRA Heartland Nationals at Heartland Park Topeka; TV Sunday on FS1 at 11 a.m. PT



Power wins INDYCAR Grand Prix from pole for 30th career victory

Will Power used the backdrop of iconic Indianapolis Motor Speedway to move past a pair of Team Penske greats in the Indy car record book. Driving the No. 12 Verizon Team Penske Chevrolet, Power dominated today's INDYCAR Grand Prix on the 2.439-mile, 14-turn road course to collect win No. 30 in his 13-year Indy car career. The milestone victory pushed the 36-year-old Power ahead of current teammate Helio Castroneves and retired Team Penske legend Rick Mears for sole possession of 11th place on the all-time list.

Power, making his 175th career start, led 61 of the 85 laps in the caution-free race and cruised across the finish line 5.283 seconds ahead of Scott Dixon in the No. 9 NTT Data Honda for Chip Ganassi Racing. Power has now won at least one race in 11 straight seasons and becomes the fifth different driver to win in as many Verizon IndyCar Series races this season.

Power owned the INDYCAR Grand Prix weekend. He was fastest in every practice session, earned the pole position Friday with a track-record lap in Verizon P1 Award qualifying and set a race record speed average of 120.813 mph. Amassing the maximum possible points, Power advanced two positions into fifth in the standings in his quest for a second series championship.

Dixon made his 275th career start and extended his consecutive starts streak to 212 races, breaking a tie for the second-longest all-time run with Jimmy Vasser. Only Dixon's current teammate Tony Kanaan - who started his 270th straight race today - has run more Indy car races consecutively.

Ryan Hunter-Reay moved from eighth on the starting grid to finish a season-best third in the No. 28 DHL Honda. It marked the 100th top-10 finish of the Andretti Autosport driver's career and gave the 36-year-old American a feeling of momentum heading into Indianapolis 500 competition that starts with practice on Monday.



Jake Gyllenhaal and Boston Bombing Hero Jeff Bauman To Serve as Historic Dual Honorary Starters of 101st Indianapolis 500

Academy Award-nominated actor, and producer Jake Gyllenhaal and Boston Marathon bombing survivor Jeff Bauman will team up to serve as honorary starters for the 101st Indianapolis 500 presented by PennGrade Motor Oil on Sunday, May 28. They will be the first duo to wave the green flag in the century-plus history of the race.

Gyllenhaal will play Bauman in the upcoming film "Stronger," based on Bauman's New York Times best-selling book of the same name in which he provides a deeply personal account of his challenging, heroic journey after losing both of his legs in the infamous Boston Marathon bombing on April 15, 2013.

NEXT RACE: 101st Running of the Indianapolis 500 on Sunday, May 28.