Truex Aiming to Make History 

With a win in Sonoma in 2024, 4-time Toyota/Save Mart 350 winner (’13, ’18, ’19, ’23) Martin Truex Jr. would join elite company amongst the road course king himself Jeff Gordon tied for the most NASCAR wins in Sonoma in history with five. This year also marks the 35th running of the Toyota/Save Mart 350.

55 Years Strong

Sonoma Raceway is celebrating 55 years of existence in 2024 – with so many memories to celebrate including historic NASCAR wins: Dale Earnhardt (‘95), Jeff Gordon 3-peat (‘98-’00), Jimmie Johnson (‘10), Daniel Suarez (‘22) and Tony Stewart’s final ever win after an iconic last lap pass (‘16). 

Newly Appointed VP/GM Brian Flynn Will Oversee First NASCAR Event 

New Sonoma Raceway Executive Vice President and General Manager Brian Flynn, who took the helm on August 1, 2023, will oversee his first Toyota/Save Mart 350 event in his new position. 

Stage Breaks are Back 

After a year of NASCAR removing stage break cautions from road courses, they will be bringing them back offering more hard racing and excitement for fans.

The King’s 75th Anniversary 

2024 marks the 75th year in which the Petty family has been racing in NASCAR. To honor him, LEGACY MOTOR CLUB (originally Petty Enterprises) will launch a season-long celebration recognizing four generations of racing in the Petty family and the LEGACY they built using storytelling, digital content, media coverage, and fun opportunities for fans at racetracks.  

Sonoma Raceway will even honor The King at The Hub all weekend long with a fun surprise for the fans. Be on the lookout!

7-Time to The HOF 

California native & 7-time NASCAR Cup Series Champion Jimmie Johnson is being inducted into the NASCAR Hall of Fame. JJ conquered his only road course in Sonoma back in 2010.  

International Flair

This year, Sonoma Raceway will play host to a number of International drivers hoping to steal the show:

  • Shane Van Gisbergen (New Zealand) - NASCAR Xfinity Series, Kaulig Racing
  • Cam Waters (Australia) - NASCAR Cup Series, RFK Racing
  • Will Brown (Australia) - NASCAR Cup Series, RCR

40th Anniversary of Hendrick Motorsports 

Team owner Rick Hendrick started the Cup Series organization in 1984 and today it is the winningest squad in Cup Series history. Drivers Kyle Larson (No. 5), Chase Elliott (No. 9), William Byron (No. 24) and Alex Bowman (No. 48) are looking to continue to add more victories to the company’s total of 307 in the sport’s top series. The company’s 14 Cup Series championships are also the most in the sport. 

Of interesting note, out of seven total Hendrick Motorsports victories in Sonoma, each driver – Jeff Gordon (5), Jimmie Johnson (1) and Kyle Larson (1) is from the Golden State. Gordon from Vallejo, CA, Johnson from El Cajon, CA, and Larson from Elk Grove, CA. 

Drivers Pulling Double Duty

In addition to Sonoma's 1998 NASCAR Truck Series winner Boris Said, wine country will feature a few other NASCAR Cup Series drivers that will also run in the NASCAR Xfinity Series race on Saturday:

  • John Hunter Nemechek
  • Ty Gibbs
  • AJ Allmendinger

Year of The 24 

2024, 24 years since the last repave, William Byron (#24) already has three wins on the early NASCAR season and looking for more - look out for him!