The 24th season of the popular STP Wednesday Night Drags kicked off at Infineon Raceway, March 7, with more than 150 Northern California drag racers convening at the Sonoma Valley drag strip.

Opening night winners included first-time finalist Novato’s Matt Dutra (High School); Novato’s Doug Love (Motorcycle); Petaluma’s Steve Wellman (Comp Rod); and Santa Rosa’s Jonny Rice (Gear Jammer).

Due to a time delay, both the Street and Sport Street finals had to be canceled with the wins going to the racers with the best combined packages in the semifinals.

The STP Wednesday night drags returns next week, March 14. Gates open at 3 p.m. with practice runs beginning at 4p.m. and final class elimination's set for 6:30 p.m. Cost for competitors is $25 ($15 for current high school students with ID) and $10 for spectators.

Drag racing will also be streamed live on March 14 starting at 4 p.m. on

Listed below are the final round pairings for each of the 6six contested classes including semifinalists:

Gear Jammer
Winner: Jonny Rice (Santa Rosa) 07 EVO-7 .100 RT 13.710 ET (13.35 dial in) 83.38 mph
Runner-up: Mark Henesian (Livermore) 69 Roadrunner .189 RT 18.095 (13.39) 40.09
Semifinalists: Sean Riggio (San Lorenzo) 92 Mustang
Sonny Sato (Santa Rosa) Vehicle N/A

Winner: Doug Love (Novato) 01 Triumph .256 RT 13.098 (12.99) 97.91
Runner-up: Scott Neely (Novato) 07 Harley .322 RT 13.278 (13.20) 100.00
Semifinalist: Jim Higgins (Pleasant Hill) 04 Suzuki
Patrick Hughes (Santa Rosa) 11 Kawasaki

High School
Winner: Matt Dutra (Novato) 99 Honda .564 RT 17.502 (17.45) 78.12
Runner-up: Jordan Law (Napa) 98 Mustang .588 RT 16.395 (15.80) 89.45
Semifinalist: Max Delaney (Novato) 93 Dodge

Comp Rod
Winner: Steve Wellman (Petaluma) .026 RT 10.244 (10.24) 128.93
Runner-up: Tom Johnson (Santa Rosa) 70 Camaro .091 RT 9.785 (9.75) 136.54
Semifinalists: Dwayne Opperman (Napa) 10 Camaro
Steve Del Buono (Vallejo) 72 Nova

Winner: Brian Kam (Pacifica) 98 Camaro  
Runner-up: Brad Bowen (Novato) 94 Mustang GT
Semifinalist: DJ Opperman (Napa) 67 Camaro

Sport Street
Winner: Richie Love (San Rafael) 05 PT Cruiser
Runner-up: Nick Bublitz (Concord) 89 Honda
Semifinalists: Tracy Brooks (San Pablo)  03 Nissan
Steve Del Buono Jr. (Vallejo) 05 Kia