By Jim McCombe

Fans attending the STP Wednesday Night Drags on April 13 were treated to some double-barrel action with the debut of the all-new Sonoma Drift program.  Sonoma Drift will run alongside the STP Wednesday Night Drags most nights beginning Wednesday, May 4.

On the quarter-mile drag strip, the police officers continued with their winning ways, going undefeated against area high school students. 

The new Stick Shift class for manual transmissions was well received with 16 entries that saw Newark's Rick McIlmoil claiming the title.

Novato's Doug Love continued his winning ways, claiming his third consecutive Wednesday night win in the Motorcycle class.

Other winners included Napa's Jessica Opperman (Comp Rod), Glen Ellen's Larry Philpot (Sport Street), Rohnert Park's Kevin Preinitz (Street) and first-time class winner Marko Perivolaris (Petaluma) in High School

Please note, there will be no STP Wednesday Night drag racing next week.  The STP Wednesday Night Drags return on April 27

Here are the complete final round results including semi finalists.

Top The Cops
Winner: Deputy Tim Wright (Sonoma Co. Sheriff's Dept.) 09 Ford .021 RT
Runner-up: Mark Flynn (Albany) 95 Cobra Mustang  -Foul

Winner: Todd Lands (Sonoma Co. Sheriff's Dept) 09 Ford  .051 RT
Runner-up: Davis Ryan (Burlingame) 86 Ford Mustang -Foul

Winner: Doug Love (Novato) 01 Triumph .016 RT 13.313 ET (13.32 dial in) 96.39 mph
Runner-up:Richie Love (San Rafael) 90 Kawasaki .179 RT 12.643 break out (12.69) 98.54
Semi Finals: Jim Higgins (Pleasant Hill) 08 Buell; Scott Neeley (Novato) 07 Harley Twin

High School
Winner: Marko Perivolaris (Petaluma) 94 Camaro .071 RT 13.997 (13.80) 90.47
Runner-up: Martin Esparza (Vallejo) 91 Ford Festiva .147 RT 16.725 (16.25) 90.42
Semi Finals: Davis Ryan (Burlingame) 86 Mustang

Sport Street
Winner: Larry Philpot (Glen Ellen) 04 Subaru .361 RT 13.456 (13.51) 100.82
Runner-up: Bill Taggart Jr. (Pacheco) 92 Ford foul -.015 RT 19.177 (19.07) 7.45
Semi Finals: Jesse Leite (San Francisco) 08 Honda; Nars Llorando (Daly City) 011 Subaru

Comp Rod
Winner: Jessica Opperman (Napa) 69 Camaro .283 RT 10.971 (10.96) 122.09
Runner-up: Dennis Stratford (Napa) 72 Vega .174 RT 11.762 break out (11.85) 110.94
Semi Finals: Matt Brians (Petaluma) 68 Camaro

Stick Shift
Winner: Rick Mcllmoil (Newark) 88 Toyota .114 RT 15.245 (15.05) 77.91
Runner-up: Anthony Feeney (Rohnert Park) 02 Ford Focus .093 RT 17.006 (16.50) 85.86
Semi Finals: Deren Babbit (Hayward) 10 Cobalt; Anthony Merlapo (San Leandro) 08 Saturn

Winner: Kevin Preinitz (Rohnert Park) 86 Mustang .072 RT 15.015 (14.35) 93.78
Runner-up: Bob Buchholz (Novato) 70 Chevy Truck foul -.101 RT 14.760 (14.82) 89.20
Semi Finals: Brian Kam (Pacifica) 98 Camaro; Tom Gregory (Santa Rosa) 89 Mustang