The IZOD IndyCar® Series returns for the seventh consecutive year to Infineon Raceway, one of four permanent road courses on the 2011 series schedule.  

Aug. 26-28.  The Indy Grand Prix of Sonoma is the 13th race on the IZOD IndyCar Series’ 17-race schedule.

Infineon Raceway is a 12-turn, 2.303-mile road course for all INDYCAR-sanctioned events. The race will span 75 laps.

What to Expect:           
Team Penske’s Will Power started from the pole and took the checkers at the 2010 Indy Grand Prix of Sonoma, just one year after suffering a season-ending back injury on the road course.  He also wrapped up the inaugural Mario Andretti Road Championship trophy...  Six different INDYCAR drivers have won at Infineon Raceway since the series debuted in Sonoma in 2005 (Tony Kanaan (’05), Marco Andretti (’06), Scott Dixon (’07), Helio Castroneves (‘08), Dario Franchitti (’09) and Power (’10). …Only once has a Sonoma winner gone on to win the series championship (Franchitti, 2009)… Andretti (19) became the then-youngest driver in history to win a major open-wheel race at Infineon Raceway in 2006. Andretti was also the first rookie to win an IndyCar Series event since 2002. … For the fifth consecutive year, all cars in the IZOD IndyCar Series will be powered by 100-percent fuel-grade ethanol… Andretti Autosport, Target Chip Ganassi Racing and Team Penske have each won two INDYCAR events at Infineon Raceway…  Sausalito native JR Hildebrand will make his second INDYCAR start at his home track driving for Panther Racing.  Hildebrand is a graduate of the Jim Russell Racing Drivers School, which is based at Infineon Raceway, and finished second at the Indianapolis 500 earlier this year. He was in line for the victory, but suffered a last-lap crash in Turn 4, and settled for second.

Target Chip Ganassi Racing’s Franchitti has four victories and leads the IZOD IndyCar Series standings by 62 points over Team Penske’s Power, who also has four victories this season.  Dixon (Target Chip Ganassi Racing), Kanaan (KV Racing Technology) and Oriol Servia (Newman/Haas Racing) round out the top five.  Andretti ended a 78-race winless streak with a victory at Iowa Speedway earlier this year; his last win came at Infineon Raceway in 2006.

Qualifying: Will Power, Aug. 21, 2010, 1:16.5282/108.337 mph
Race Lap: Helio Castroneves, August 24, 2008, 1:18.632/105.44 mph

In addition:     
The Indy Grand Prix of Sonoma will also include the Formula Car Challenge, Star Mazda Series, World Challenge Series and Historic Grand Prix.

Friday, Aug. 26: Historic Grand Prix Practice, 11:30 a.m.-noon; Star Mazda Practice, 12:15 p.m. – 1 p.m.; World Challenge Practice, 1:15 p.m. – 1:45 p.m.; Historic Grand Prix Practice, 2 p.m. – 2:30 p.m.; IZOD IndyCar® Series Practice, 2:50 p.m. – 4:05 p.m.; Star Mazda Practice, 4:20 p.m. – 5:05 p.m.; Formula Car Challenge Practice, 5:15 p.m. – 6 p.m.          

Saturday, Aug. 27, Fluid Film Pole Day: Formula Car Challenge Qualifying, 8:10 a.m. – 8:40 a.m.; World Challenge Qualifying, 8:55 a.m. – 9:40 a.m.; Star Mazda Qualifying, 9:50 a.m. – 10:35 a.m.; IZOD IndyCar Series Practice, 10:50 a.m. – 11:50 a.m.; Formula Car Challenge Race 1, 12:05 p.m. – 12:35 p.m.; World Challenge Race 1, 12:45 p.m. – 2:15 p.m.; IZOD IndyCar Series Fluid Film Pole Day Qualifying, 2:35 p.m. – 3:55 p.m.; Historic Grand Prix Practice, 4:10 p.m. – 4:40 p.m.; Star Mazda Race, 5 p.m. – 6 p.m.        

Sunday, Aug. 28: Historic Grand Prix Warm-Up, 8:15 a.m. – 8:45 a.m.; IZOD IndyCar Series Warm-up 9 a.m. – 9:30 a.m.; Formula Car Challenge Race 2, 11-11:30 a.m.; Historic Grand Prix Race, 11:45 a.m. – 12:15 p.m.; Indy Grand Prix of Sonoma Race, 1:45 p.m.; Followed by World Challenge Race.

Qualifying: Saturday, Aug. 27, 3 p.m., VERSUS 
Race: Sunday, Aug. 28, 1 p.m., VERSUS

Call 800-870-RACE (7223) or visit infineonraceway.com/indycar or ticketmaster.com.