Don "The Snake" Prudhomme developed quite a resume as both a racer and team owner on the NHRA Full Throttle Drag Racing Series during his 45-plus years in the sport.

The legendary Prudhomme will add yet another honor to that lengthy resume when he is inducted into the Infineon Raceway Wall of Fame during the FRAM/Autolite NHRA Nationals, July 29-31.

Prudhomme will be inducted during pre-event ceremonies on Sunday, July 31. He is the only racer to win in two different professional divisions in Sonoma (Funny Car, 1989; Top Fuel, 1992), and he was runner-up in Funny Car during the NHRA's  first visit to Sonoma in 1988. Moreover, as a team owner he guided racers like Larry Dixon and others to victory at Infineon Raceway. He posted 59 wins overall as team owner.

He has certainly earned his spot on the Wall of Fame along past NHRA inductees Warren Johnson (2005), John Force (2006), Gary Scelzi (2007) and Doug Kalitta (2008).

"I have always enjoyed racing at Sonoma and mostly because of the fans," said Prudhomme.  "In the early ‘60s, Northern California was one of the real hotbeds for drag racing in the early days when we raced at Half Moon Bay and Fremont, and it still is.  I enjoyed seeing people from those tracks when I began racing at Sonoma.  And you know? The wine isn't too bad either."   

Nationally, Prudhomme's career began with his first Top Fuel win at Smokers March Meet in Bakersfield in 1962. He ended his career with 49 NHRA victories, at the time the sixth most in NHRA history. He became the first racer to win four consecutive NHRA series titles, and he won the prestigious U.S. Nationals seven times. He was also the first Funny Car driver to break the 250 mph barrier, among his many other accolades.

“The Infineon Raceway Wall of Fame is reserved for individuals whose accomplishments have helped to define the legacy of this facility,” said Steve Page, president and general manager of Infineon Raceway.  “Don Prudhomme’s career accomplishments are the stuff of legends, but today we are focused more specifically on his remarkable record in Sonoma as both a driver and team owner.  We’re proud to welcome The Snake as the latest addition to our Wall of Fame.”

24th annual FRAM/Autolite NHRA Nationals
WHAT: Big O Tires Racing Season Presents: FRAM/Autolite NHRA Nationals
WHEN: July 29-31
CIRCUIT: Drag strip
2010 TOP QUALIFIERS: Larry Dixon (Top Fuel); Jack Beckman (Funny Car); Allen Johnson (Pro Stock); Hector Arana (Pro Stock Motorcycle)
2010 WINNERS: Larry Dixon (Top Fuel); Ron Capps (Funny Car); Jeg Coughlin (Pro Stock); Michael Phillips (Pro Stock Motorcycle)
TICKETS: $50-$60 single day/$135 weekend; parking is FREE